Reviews

See What Brides And Grooms
Say About David Rothstein Music

We love getting reviews! It makes our extra efforts worthwhile. All our reviews were originally posted on The Knot or Wedding Wire. We show you the couple’s first and last names as well as the exact date they wrote their review. Any band can have a great review here and there, David Rothstein Music has had amazing reviews week after week, month after month and year after year for the past 20 years.

We look forward to getting one from you!

Rachel & Nick 

 Neil & Alex 

 Christine Jim 

Ilana Jon  

Kafi Jimmy  

“The Band was Unbelievable”

by Kolby and J. Golden on 10/5/18

Absolutely AMAZING!!! While planning our wedding, we knew for sure we wanted a band rather than a DJ. When we came across David Rothstein Music, we set up a meeting right away. As soon as we met with David, we knew that we wanted DRM to be part of our special day. Throughout the entire process, he was a pleasure to work with. He was very prompt with responses to any questions I had. By the time the reception finally came, the band was unbelievable. We were concerned people wouldn’t dance because we were having a dry wedding, but they had the dance floor packed the entire night. We had numerous people compliment on how great they music was and they’re still talking about it now. If you’re looking for a wedding band, go with David Rothstein Music, you won’t be disappointed!!!

“Incredible!”

by Christine and Jimmy Loukota on 9/6/17

DRM IS THE BEST WEDDING BAND! We knew that we wanted to go with David Rothstein Music because they played at my friend’s wedding and we were blown away by them. Needless to say, our expectations were very high for our own wedding. David and the band exceeded our expectations in every way possible. David spent a lot of time getting to know us and made our whole wedding very custom to us and our story. The band played a special Elvis dedication for my husband’s grandmother and a Frank Sinatra piece for my grandparents. They LOVED it! All 280 guests were on the dance floor all night and everyone was raving about the band. We also hired the DJ/Sax Duo for an extra hour for an “after party” and it was INCREDIBLE! My only regret is that they couldn’t play all night. Hire DRM, you are guaranteed to have an unforgettable wedding!

“Received Non-Stop Compliments”

by Joe Alagna (FOB) on 6/28/18

As the Father of the Bride, I took on the responsibility of finding potential bands based on referrals, Wedding Wire and The Knot to fit in with the budget I had in mind. After a short time, I began to discover that the cost was going to be a bit more than I expected to get the BIG sound that we all wanted. We narrowed it down to a few of the premier bands in Chicago. After going to see the David Rothstein Music in person, it quickly became a no-brainer. It is simply not possible to find a better sounding Band/Orchestra. While we focused a lot on Motown dance music, but the three vocalists are so versatile, they made a variety of music sound very authentic. Every musician in the band are as good as it gets. They kept people on the dance floor the entire time. There is nothing worse than planning a wedding for months and going through all the expense, than to see the crowd thin out early. However, the band is so entertaining that they will keep your guests to the end. If they are not dancing, they will stay to listen and watch them perform. I can’t emphasize how big of a deal this was for us. Doing the wedding over again, there is nothing that I would change. However, if I had to keep to a stricter budget, I would build the entire budget around David Rothstein Music. They are worth every penny!!! Months or years after the wedding, people are not going to remember the flowers or even the food, but they will remember how great the band was. We have received non-stop compliments from our guests regarding the band. David was terrific to work with from the very start. He was extremely responsive before and after we booked them. You can really find out a lot about a person when you see how they support you after they have your money. We trusted David from the start and he delivered in spades!!! After the wedding, you might have regrets regarding some decisions you made, but booking David Rothstein will not be one of them!

“Put My Mind at Ease”

by Melanie and Richard Nerland on 7/16/18

Hands down, the thing most guests remember and talk about is the music. David and his team were the stars! I used the duo for the ceremony, jazz trio for cocktail hour, and 11-piece band for reception and DJ for the last hour. Money well spent. The ceremony music guide was a blessing, it helped give a clueless bride the path to planning a great setting. They set such a beautiful tone for the ceremony, kept the cocktail hour lively and got people on their feet all night for the reception and the DJ shut the party down! David was so hands on and helped answer all of my questions, put my mind at ease the day-of as Emcee and helped keep everything in the perfect order. My husband and I learned a choreographed first dance and David’s team learned our song and played it live, that made it extra special for us. They knew exactly what to play and kept everyone happy and moving. David gave us a special gift of a Marvel book (my husband is a huge fan) and asked all of our guests to sign it, that level of care and support makes David Rothstein Music hands above the rest!

“Incredibly Special and Memorable”

by Andrea and Tommy Short on 10/31/17

We have been married a little over five months now and people are still talking about how awesome our band was at our wedding! David Rothstein, and every single one of his FABULOUS musicians, made our wedding so incredibly special and memorable! It was such a pleasure working with David during our planning process. He was always very prompt in his responses, whether it would be just answering a simple question, or setting up time to do a more extensive call on the phone. David is very knowledgeable about the entire company, and is a musician himself, so he really knows what makes for great music! We wish we could rate them with more than five stars! Everything fell into place beautifully on our wedding day and we wish we could see them at more events. As a client, we had access to their extensive playlist for the reception. What was really great also was that we were able to pick out the songs we wanted from the strings list for our ceremony. David really went above and beyond helping us customize our songs for our entire ceremony. He also was very flexible and accommodating when we told him about a few surprises we had planned for the reception! One thing we thought was exceptional was the fact that David worked so closely with our wedding planner and helped with some of the details for the day. That really made everything flow smoothly and the day was perfect! The string quartet had to make a couple of adjustments for our ceremony, as far as the actual location itself, but everything worked out well and they sounded great! There was a jazz trio playing during the cocktail hour which was a very nice touch! The 11-piece band we had for the reception was probably one of our favorite wedding bands we have ever heard! The musicians were so incredibly talented, and the dance floor was packed all night long! We had them playing as our guests were coming in from the cocktail hour, and people really enjoyed that. They played a lot of songs that people of all ages wanted to dance to all night long! Everything was ranging from Motown, to some classics, to some pop hits, and everything in between! Our guests are still, to this day, talking about how good our band was and how much fun they had that night! Some of our friends have said that they don’t typically dance at weddings but were dancing all night long at our wedding! We were so grateful to have this band play at our wedding! We keep talking about how we want to go back and do it again, just so we can have the band back! We highly recommend David Rothstein Music and would love to see them perform again!

“Exactly What You Want”

by Ginger and Daniel Serra on 11/20/16

Do yourself a favor and book David Rothstein Music for your wedding. You will not be disappointed. David and his team are absolutely amazing! From their professionalism, friendly attitudes and, above all else, their ability to make your wedding music customized to exactly what you want it to be. Not just a cookie cutter repeat of the music they used for the last wedding they played. David also worked seamlessly with our other vendors the day of the wedding to make sure everything was executed on-cue and exactly how we wanted it. I can’t say enough great things about David Rothstein Music, they’re the best!

“Goes Above and Beyond”

by Jolise and Jason Polgar on 6/3/18

About 2.5 years ago, my sister and brother-in-law had David Rothstein Music provide the music for their reception. My husband and I knew then that we wanted this very talented group of musicians/singers to provide music for our wedding when the time came. David and his wonderful staff kept us in the loop for everything and they were very prompt in replying to all of our emails regarding the planning of the music. For our ceremony, we had a violinist and pianist and they were wonderful. They were even able to play the Star Wars theme for our recessional and it sounded awesome! David and his band kept our guests on the dance floor all night, which is exactly what we wanted. David is also a fantastic emcee. He went above and beyond to customize all of the music to suit our needs and we couldn’t be happier. Our wedding was on April 20, 2018 and we are still getting compliments on the band and how much fun everyone had! We highly recommend DRM to anyone planning a wedding. They are worth every penny!

review 1

“The Best Decision”

by Katherine and Ryan LaValle on 8/31/18

David Rothstein Band was hands down the best decision we made for our wedding day. We used the jazz trio during cocktail hour, 11-piece band, and late-night DJ & saxophone for our wedding reception. We were absolutely blown away by David Rothstein Band. David is extremely professional, organized, and an absolute joy to work with. My husband and I both went to Indiana University and David had all of our guests sign an IU basketball – truly an awesome touch! The band is incredible. They are extremely talented and energetic. Our dance floor was packed all night long with people of all ages dancing. The band went out of their way to learn songs for us and it was obvious that they are truly passionate about what they do. I can’t say enough good things about this band. Guests came up to us the entire night of our wedding saying how incredible the band was and how they’ve never danced so much at a wedding. Our wedding was over a month ago now, but we are still receiving compliments on how AMAZING the band was. I highly recommend David Rothstein Band!

“Our Dance Floor was Packed!”

by Cindy and Ryan Hayes 1/22/18

Having a live band and fun atmosphere at our wedding was a top priority for us and we could not have been happier with David Rothstein Music!! We liked David from the moment we met him and bonded over our love for the Cubs. At our wedding, the band gifted us a framed photo of the marquee at Wrigley on Opening Day 2014 (the day we met!) for our guests to sign. So thoughtful! We used DRM for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. We had a vision for our ceremony and wanted more modern music (Bon Iver, Beck, Adele). They accommodated this with ease and gave honest feedback on what would work and what wouldn’t. It was perfect and absolutely what we envisioned — thanks Alex!! For dinner/reception our emcee (Brian) was great! He accommodated last minute changes with introductions and got the guests excited. The band even worked with my MOHs to incorporate music into their speech, which was a total surprise and absolutely hilarious. The reception was a blast!! The dance floor was PACKED the entire time, which is exactly what we wanted. We asked guests to add a song request on their RSVP card and the band gave special shout outs to certain guests before playing- such a sweet touch! They also accommodated our “must play” song list between the band and DJ sets. We have received countless compliments about DRM from our guests and it was by far the BEST decision we made for our wedding. Serve pizza for dinner if you have to, hiring DRM is worth it!!!

“Really Cares About the Details”

by Julie and Santosh Hanan on 1/29/17

Coming from a family of music lovers, we knew that the first thing we needed to book for our wedding was an amazing band. I had heard of David Rothstein Music in the past and immediately checked out their website to get some more information. After listening to their music clips and meeting with David, we knew it was a done deal. David and the band were a pleasure to work with and he really cares about the details to make sure the day went smoothly. Unlike some vendors, you can contact him at practically all hours of the date. The day-of was more than I could have imagined. I am Jewish and my husband’s family is from India. I was worried that not many people would dance due to the cultural aspect. Boy was I wrong! David and the band did a great job at determining the kind of music our group wanted to hear and our dance floor was full most of the evening! All the musicians and vocalists were outstanding. We received so many compliments from our guests on the awesome music at our wedding. Thank you so much David Rothstein Music for such a fantastic and memorable day!

And that’s not all! We have hundreds of additional reviews available upon request.